Call and Submission 2019

Deadline for  full paper submission has been extended until March 15, 2019 23:59. Please note that there will be no further deadline extensions!

All important information related to the Call for Papers are available as pdf-download:

Please use the below paper template for the submission:
ARW and OAGM Submission Template

The Austrian Robotics Workshop (ARW) and OAGM Workshop will be held at FH-Steyr from 9th to 10th of May 2019. A specific goal is to strengthen the cooperation between academia and industry. Therefore, the contributions and participation from industry is strongly encouraged, e.g., with short spotlight papers.

The general topics of the workshop include but are not limited to:

Austrian Robotics Workshop

General Workshop Chair: Markus Vincze, TU Vienna and Andreas Pichler, PROFACTOR

General Topics*:
All topics related to robotics including but not limited to:

  • Robot kinematics and dynamics
  • Modelling and Control
  • Mechatronic Design
  • Robot Perception
  • Human-Robot Interaction; Usability
  • Estimation, Diagnosis and Learning
  • Planning and Reasoning
  • Software Design and Architectures for Mobile Robots
  • Safety & security
  • Collaborative Robot – Cobots
  • Autonomous Systems, UAV, UGV
  • Field and Rescue Robots
  • Construction Robotics

OAGM Workshop

General Workshop Chair: Robert Sablatnig, TU Vienna and Gernot Stübl, PROFACTOR

General Topics
General topics of interest include all aspects of computer vision and pattern recognition including, but not limited to:

  • Pattern recognition (visual & non-visual data)
  • Object detection, recognition & categorization
  • 3D vision, stereo & structure from motion
  • Image & video retrieval
  • Cognitive vision
  • Safety & security
  • Statistical methods & learning
  • Embedded computer vision
  • Optimization
  • Image denoising, restoration & enhancement
  • Regularization models for image analysis
  • Motion & tracking
  • Scene modeling & understanding
  • Video analysis & event recognition
  • Face & gesture analysis
  • Performance evaluation
  • Robot perception
  • Biometrics
  • Medical image analysis
  • Computational anatomy & atlases
  • Computer-aided detection
  • Computer assisted medical interventions
  • Clinical & biological applications
  • Industrial applications

Paper Electronic Submission

The review process is double-blind, please take this into account when preparing your submission. All submission types should be submitted before the deadline via the EasyChair conference system ( ). Papers should be formatted according to the style of IEEE R&A conferences (templates are available for download at the conference homepage). Please indicate the submission type: (a) Research paper or (b) industrial or scientific spotlight paper. We strongly encourage students to submit as principal (first) author a paper to this joint workshop. All submissions will be subject to peer-review by at least three members of the program committee and notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to the corresponding author. Only submissions with at least one author as registered and presenting participant will be included in the workshop proceedings. Workshop proceedings will be published in digital format (with ISBN).

Please use the below paper template for the submission:
ARW and OAGM Submission Template

Important Dates

  • January 13, 2019: Paper submission open
  • March 1, 2019: Full paper submission deadline
  • March 15, 2019 23:59: Full paper submission deadline (no further extension)
  • April 07, 2019 23:59: Featured presentations
  • April 17, 2019: Notification of acceptance; Registration open
  • April 21, 2019: Early workshop registration deadline
  • April 30, 2019: Camera-ready paper submission deadline; Registration deadline
  • May 09-10, 2019: Austrian Robotics Workshop & OAGM Workshop

Submission Types

  • Research Paper (4-6 pages)
  • Industrial or scientific spotlight (1-2 pages)
  • Posters (2 pages) – students contribution
  • Featured Papers (papers already presented at high ranked conferences)

Program Committee

  • Helmut Ahammer, Medical University of Graz
  • Csaba Beleznai, AIT
  • Horst Bischof, TU Graz
  • Michael Bleyer, Microsoft
  • Kristian Bredies, Uni Graz
  • Katja Bühler, VRVIS
  • Wilhelm Burger, FH Hagenberg
  • Cornelia Fermüller, University of Maryland
  • Friedrich Fraundorfer, TU Graz
  • Johannes Fürnkranz, TU Darmstadt
  • Harald Ganster, Joanneum Research
  • Margrit Gelautz, TU Wien
  • Martin Hirzer, TU Graz
  • Michael Hödlmoser, Emotion 3D GmbH
  • Martin Kampel, TU Wien
  • Florian Kleber, TU Wien
  • Arjan Kuijper, Fraunhofer IGD
  • Roland Kwitt, Uni Salzburg
  • Christoph Lampert, IST Austria
  • Georg Langs, Meduni Wien
  • Mathias Lux, Uni Klagenfurt
  • Hubert Mara, Uni Heidelberg
  • Bernhard Moser, SCCH Hagenberg
  • Gerhard Paar, Joanneum Research
  • Justus Piater, Uni Innsbruck
  • Rainer Planinc, Cogvis GmbH
  • Thomas Pock, TU Graz
  • Horst Possegger, TU Graz
  • Peter M. Roth, TU Graz
  • Josef Scharinger, Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Otmar Scherzer, Uni Wien
  • Konrad Schindler, ETH Zürich
  • Daniel Soukup, AIT
  • Stefan Thumfart, RISC Software GmbH
  • Andreas Uhl, Uni Salzburg
  • Martin Welk, UMIT Hall
  • Sebastian Zambal, Profactor GmbH


  • Verena Musikar, Profactor GmbH, Austria
  • Gernot Stübl, Profactor GmbH, Austria